Android is Nokia’s backup plan if WP8 fails, company exec says

When I read this news, I was kind of literally shocked. Basically, I am doing android development for almost 3 years. Then, in an exhibition I met a guy, who has been doing Nokia Development for 14 years.  He recommended me to start N0kia Development, and I was also thinking to start it. But, this news is saying something else for me, and I think this might be surprising for you too.

According to news in the article, Nokia executive says in an interview, which was broadcast live, that if Windows Phone 8 plan fails, then Nokia will start porting Android on their devices.

My thoughts on the plan are that if Nokia ports Android on their devices, then it will be very good opportunity and competition for Android developers. So, what do you think about what will happen? If you have any thought or comment, please don’t hesitate to write it.

The original news is quoted below:

Nokia has been frantically rejecting the possibility of putting Android on its smartphones, but this might change if Windows Phone 8 fails to gain traction.

In an interview aired on a Finnish TV, Risto Siilasmaa, a member of the Nokia board of directors, said that Android is the company’s “backup plan” if Windows Phone 8 fails.

However, Siilasmaa also added that he is happy with how things are currently shaping up for Windows Phone 8 and switching to plan B probably won’t be required. Microsoft and Nokia are betting on more features and less bugs to turn things in their favor.

Many people are going to be quite happy if in fact Nokia joins the Android camp and starts manufacturing some truly high-end devices. However, such a turn of events seems unlikely as the contract between Nokia and Microsoft is said to contain clauses, which force the Finns to focus all their effort on WP.

Source: http://www.gsmarena.com/android_is_nokias_backup_plan_if_wp8_fails_company_executive_says-news-4471.php

About Wajahat Karim (GamyGuru)

I am Wajahat Karim living in Islamabad, Pakistan. I am currently a Facebook Game Developer at White Rabbit Studios, Islamabad. I am passionate about game development for Android, iPhone, browsers, computers and more. I just wanna say that "Me, The Entertainer, Coz Everyone Needs Entertainment .... :D"

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Android, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. the windows may remain strong on the pc.. but it is a different situation on mobile phone. android is more applicable until now.

    • Yeah…. until now, Windows has been going great on PCs but if Nokia ports Android then it will be huge change in the mobile world, i guess…. Now lets see what happens….
      Thanks for your comments…..

  2. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I have truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  3. This blog is excellent. I wish I could find more like this.

    • Thanks Rolando for your nice words…. I guess that you finally found the blog like this, and I really appreciate that for such a positive feedback…. 🙂

  4. Tentorium is the first major company in the Russian market specializing in the processing of honey products….

  5. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  6. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I suppose you made some great points in the Feature also.

  7. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Cheers

  8. I actually wished to compose a small note to thank for you for many of the pleasant secrets you happen to be showing on this website.

  9. Blogs ou should be reading…

    • Thanks Andree…. for suggestions to my readers.

      By the way, it was nice theme you started in your mike blog, I am afraid that why you stopped posting. Keep posting dude.. its a really great theme you chose there…..

      Thanks…. 😀

  10. Wonderful blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thanks!

    • Thanks Leisha…. And that’s great that you are going to start your own blog. I would recommend you to start your own blog as soon as possible. Just think about the theme, and start writing. What I learned from my experience is that readers like originality, so write your own material and original material….

      About platforms, wordpress is very good to go. For now, make a free blog, later on you can shift to paid version. Why am I recommending you the free blog is that just make your audience, increase blog views and clicks. Once all done in around 2 3 months, then you are ready to buy…..

      I am looking forward to your blog. Please send me the link, once your blog is started. I would love to hear from you.

      Thanks…. 😀

  11. Oh my goodness! an wonderful post dude. Thank you However I am experiencing problem with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone acquiring identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    • Thanks Marcos for stopping by on this blog…. However, if you want to subscribe in the blog, then you will see a black Follow button in bottom-right side of the screen, click on the button, and you will be see a pop-up consisting of email subscription, Facebook like and twitter follow buttons.

      Also, on the side bar of the blog, you will see underneath RSS part “Follow Blog via Email” part. So, just write your email in it, and you will be subscribed.

      Again, if you still can’t subscribe, then follow these links:

      http://www.facebook.com/GamyGuru

      https://twitter.com/WajahatKarim

      I hope this helps. In case of problems, write it please.

      Thanks….. 🙂

  12. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  13. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your weblog? I am looking for a good quality web host and your site seams to be quick and up all the time

  14. I almost never leave responses, however I read a ton of remarks on Android is Nokia’s backup plan if WP8 fails, company exec says GamyGuru – Prince of Game World. I actually do have some questions for you if you tend not to mind. Could it be simply me or does it seem like some of these responses come across as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online social sites, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you post a list of the complete urls of your social networking sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  15. Aw, this was a really nice post. In concept I would like to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to get something done.

  16. How long can my computer keep running with an outdated browser?

    • Well! I dont think that your computer’s status and life is attached with your browser. Browser is not an operating system, and your computer can be affected by problems or expiry of operating system, not the browser. So, I think it can keep running and running. 🙂

  17. Everything wrote was actually very reasonable. However, what about this? what if you were to write a awesome post title? I ain’t saying your information isn’t good., but suppose you added a title that grabbed people’s attention? I mean Android is Nokia’s backup plan if WP8 fails, company exec says GamyGuru – Prince of Game World is kinda vanilla. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write news titles to get people to click. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

    • Thanks Serena for pointing out a very good mistake of mine. I actually just started the blog, so I really need the feedback from my readers. Thanks for informing me about Yahoo! titles. I surely work on that now…. Thanks 🙂

  18. Rattling instructive and superb structure of content material , now that’s user pleasant (:.

Leave a Reply

