67% of all Google Play revenue comes from outside the U.S. – Interesting

It was in my thought that USA and European countries plays more games on Android than any other countries. So, I was always focused on developing applications and games especially for USA or Europe. But, i was wrong. At Google I/O 2012 Keynote Day 1, Google reveals the news as part of the presentation that Google Play is generating is 67% of revenue from outside the USA. And in that 67%, main part is paid by Japan and Korea…. It seemed to me very interesting, I just was speechless when I got the news. You can read the article below, which I am gonna share with you.

67 percent of all revenue generated by Google Play comes from outside the U.S. according to Chris Yerga, Google’s engineering director for Google Play.

Yerga shared the numbers as part of his presentation Android Apps in Google Play, during the I/O conference in San Francisco today, emphasizing how revenues have increased in countries like Japan and Korea. Google Play revenue in the two countries increased 14 times year-over-year, largely thanks to carrier billing. 73 percent of users in Japan and Korea pay for apps through carrier billing.

Google’s official numbers match what we’ve heard from independent developers like Robot Invader. In May Robot Invader CEO Chris Pruett told us his game Wind-Up Knight makes 60 percent of its revenue through Google Play, and Android users have higher conversion rates and ARPU. Pruett credits his app’s success on Google Play to access to carrier billing. In today’s I/O keynote Google announced it will expand direct billing to more than a dozen carriers.

In-app billing has also been a success for certain developers, said Yerga. He shared a slide with a testimonial from TinyCo, which reports its average revenue per paying user (ARPU) is higher in Google Play than any other app store.

Source: http://www.insidemobileapps.com/2012/06/27/67-of-all-google-play-revenue-comes-from-outside-the-us/

About Wajahat Karim (GamyGuru)

I am Wajahat Karim living in Islamabad, Pakistan. I am currently a Facebook Game Developer at White Rabbit Studios, Islamabad. I am passionate about game development for Android, iPhone, browsers, computers and more. I just wanna say that "Me, The Entertainer, Coz Everyone Needs Entertainment .... :D"

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Android, Google IO 2012, News. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you really realize what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my website =). We could have a hyperlink alternate contract between us

  2. I don’t even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this publish used to be great. I don’t realize who you are however certainly you’re going to be a famous blogger, should you aren’t already. Cheers!

  3. I am no longer sure where you are getting your info, however great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  1. Pingback: Google Alert – keeping chickens | Chicken Ark

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers

